Friday October 3, 7.30pm
The Wooster Group at Microscope
screening w/ introduction & Q&A by Clay Hapaz
in collaboration with Spectacle and Silent Barn
admission $6 – Leslie Thornton and Ken Kobland present!

HULA_002_photo by Bob van Dantzig
From “Hula” (1981)  / Photo by Bob Van Dantzig

Microscope Gallery is very pleased to present a screening night of little-known and rarely-seen video pieces by The Wooster Group, as part of a Brooklyn mini-series that includes other Wooster Group-related events at Spectacle and Silent Barn. The program features works such as “Today, I Must Sincerely Congratulate You”, “Rhyme ‘Em To Death”, Flaubert Dreams Of Travel…”, “The Cocktail Party” and special excerpts from “Hula”, all directed by Elizabeth LeCompte with cinematography by Leslie Thornton and Ken Kobland. Performing alongside original Wooster Group members Willem Dafoe, Kate Valk, Spalding Gray, Peyton Smith, and Ron Vawter are Steve Buscemi, Anna Köhler, Irma St. Paule, Erik Moskowitz, Tom Zummer, and more.

The program will be introduced by Clay Hapaz of the Wooster Group, who will also be available for a Q&A following the screening.

Founded in 1975 by Elizabeth LeCompte and Spalding Gray, The Wooster Group has made more than 30 works for theater, dance, film and video under the direction of Elizabeth LeCompte. These works include “Rumstick Road” (1977), “L.S.D. (…Just The High Points…)” (1984), “Frank Dell’s The Temptation Of St. Antony” (1988), “Brace Up!” (1991), “The Emperor Jones” (1993), “House/Lights” (1999), “To You”, “The Birdie! (Phèdre)” (2002), “Hamlet” (2007), “There Is Still Time…Brother” (2007), “La Didone” (2009), and “Vieux Carré” (2011). Based at The Performing Garage at 33 Wooster Street in lower Manhattan, the company regularly tours worldwide, including North and South America, Europe, Asia, and Australia. The Performing Garage is part of the Grand Street Artists Co-op, a 1960’s project of the Fluxus art movement. More info at
Founding and Original Members: Elizabeth LeCompte, Spalding Gray (1941-2004), Jim Clayburgh, Ron Vawter (1948-1994), Willem Dafoe, Kate Valk, Peyton Smith.
Current Company: Max Bernstein, Zbigniew Bzymek, Enver Chakartash, Mike Farry, Ari Fliakos, Ed Friedman, Sandra Garner, Clay Hapaz, Cynthia Hedstrom, Bill Kennedy, Elizabeth LeCompte, Bobby McElver, Jamie Poskin, Emily Rea, Scott Shepherd, Kate Valk, Robert Wuss.

  • join our mailing list

    F T V instagram